Ashland Super D Wrap

Date Jun 16, 2009

Breakaway Event in Ashland, Oregon hosted the longest and most demanding race in Oregon. The course was fast and flowy with some wicked peddling. With over 5,000 vertical feet of descending, the twelve mile Super D event attracted some of the greatest riders to Oregon. The weather varied as much as the terrain featuring fog, rain and blue skies. The unique weather found some riders choosing different gear, like cross country helmets and full goggles. The course beckoned to find out how fast racers were willing to go with a mix of fire roads and tight single track. Within just a few minutes of the start, the athletes were treated to a lung burning climb. Some of our favorite athletes had less than perfect luck with both Kirt Vories and Eric Carter having flat tire issues. Local hero and overall favorite, Nathan Riddle scorched the course only to catch a tree mid-air to end his epic run in a glorious crash.

 Kirt Voreis (left) and Tyler Morland were out to enjoy the glorious weather.

Willow Koerber combined her fitness and riding skills to win the Pro Women category. Willow said, “The riding was an absolute blast. I had so much fun that I had to laugh at times as the weekend provided pure mountain bike enjoyment.”  This year’s event also featured the first Avid Chainless Challenge! Before the start line, SRAM staff graciously removed the chain, but returned them post race along with a brand new SRAM chain. Contestants left at 2 minute intervals down the 3 miles course completely chainless. The combination of rolling fire roads and single track required smooth handling and precision braking in order to be fast.

 Willow Koerber took the pro women’s title.

A few hundred yards after the start line, racers entered the Avid Speed Zone where they were clocked by radar gun for fastest times. Both Pro Men and Amateur men clocked a top speed of 33 mph. Pro Women and Amateur Women clocked a top speed of 29.

 Myles Rockwell seems to love to slide out of retirement to win unique races.

Myles Rockwell won the Pro Men Chainless Challenge. Rockwell enjoyed the event and said, “It was refreshing to come race within such a great community of riders and in a town that embraces the outdoor enthusiast.”

For more details on the Ashland Super D, the Avid Chainless Challenge, and future SRAM fun, check out

Pro Men Super D
1 Adam Craig – Giant
2 Jason Moeshler – WTB
3 Sam Koerber – Gary Fisher 29r Team

Pro Women Super D
1 Willow Koerber – Subaru Gary Fisher
SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
2 Sharon Hill
3 Jamie Stamps

Pro Men Chainless Challenge
1 Myles Rockwell – Giant-Troy Lee
SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
2 Nathan Riddle – Fluidride
SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
3 Jaren Hobbs

Pro Women Chainless Challenge
1 Dawn Lambert
2 Chelsey Stevens
3 Willow Koerber – Subaru Gary Fisher
SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
for more results, see

Posted in: News

Trending on NSMB


Please log in to leave a comment.