Near death experience on WS DH

July 23, 2008, 5:48 p.m.

Since nobody really seems to follow up with the "current condition" thread anymore, I thought of starting a new thread and hopefully get more visibility.

First of all,we all know how hard the trail crew are busting their arses and I want to say thank you to all of the guys for doing a such great job.Apparently there's only 12 of them for the entire mountain which leads me to believe they all must be SUPERMENS…

With that being said,I've been riding up there for 6 years now, Ive seen MUCH dryer summers WITH A LOT more traffic but I have NEVER seen the park in such a LAME shape.I thought the SIGNIFICANT price raise for a PASS was SUPPOSE to either give me new trails in the Garbo zone like its been said (and Im not talking about No Joke re-opening) or at least super buffed trails…Ninja cougar looks ready to go( just like it was a year ago) sorry and cant think of anything else right now that is new…French connection doesn't count…its been there for ever.

BUT!!!!! I can live with that I mean, Whistler still is a killer place to ride, Im just not sure where my money went…

What REALLY pisses me off is when I nearly kill myself on a trail because of the terrible conditions…Picture this, Im pinning down the very first part of Whistler DH, set up for the small berm and then…BANG not one but 2 GIANT holes waiting to swallow my front wheel…Nevertheless I manage to pull it off and avoid the carnage but the trail had more to make sure I was really going to eat shit.Right after the berm…THE TRAIL IS GONE!!! I mean completely washed OUT!!!…and down I went..