One bike or more?

March 17, 2022, 11:48 a.m.

Hey, I’m sure this has been discussed  before but a quick scrub didn’t show anything too fresh.

I’m wondering about the value of having two bikes, a big enduro or free ride and a smaller trail or hardtail vs one all mountain (150/160 ish)

Anyone have experience with both that can offer some practical insights?

Happy trails!

March 17, 2022, 12:11 p.m.

N+1

March 17, 2022, 12:58 p.m.

I think it really depends on the type of riding you're aiming to do, and what really brings you bike joy.

I started riding trail bikes in '98/'99 on a hard tail, like pretty much everyone did at the time. About a year and a half later I started getting into suspension bikes which led directly to bikes with more travel and a lot of DH racing for around 5 straight years. Then succumbed to a reeeeally long stint of post-secondary education where I only had a trail suspension bike and could barely even buy parts for maintenance. As soon as I started getting back on my feet, I bought a cheap Chromag frame, built up with whatever I could find, and realized that I still love the experience of riding a hard tail. With a background of spending 8 months a year on a DH bike, bringing one back into the fold made me realize I really love smashing trails with 200mm of travel, huge brakes and very soft tires. Yet I still spend most of my riding time on my 160/150 trail bike, which I absolutely love.