horses on Camp Brick singletrack

June 9, 2005, 2:45 p.m.

anyone else see that the horse crowd has essentially destroyed one of the Camp Brick singletracks?

i've been riding it for 2 years and until about 3-4 weeks ago I had never seen a horse track on it. now, the trail is trashed. whole sections of rock work that have been there for years are completely gone, rocks all loose and missing. the trail used to be solid ground even after rains, now it's about 6" of mushy soil the whole way down, basically a big freaking mud pit.

anyone who thinks mountain bikes cause impact haven't seen what a few horses can do a in a few weeks. hmmm, a couple hundred pound human does less impact than 1000+ horse? you don't say…

i will be following up with LSCR on this, and I urge others who ride Camp Brick to do so as well. this is bullshit.

June 9, 2005, 2:59 p.m.

Go out and take some pictures … BTW I don't think attacking another user group is very productive. Maybe try and frame it more as "a dialog with horse people" - kinda like a horse-people whisperer. One thing I noticed about horseback riders is that they tend to be rich, educated and well-connected (not that I know what it feels like to be any of those things). How many guys do you know pour cement or serve expressos all week and then go horseback riding on the weekends?. Maybe we should try to be constructive while trying to be friends. D. [HTML_REMOVED]- I don't pretend to know anything, so blow it off if you feel like it.

June 9, 2005, 3:12 p.m.

i'm sorry, but when someone is so clueless that their animals are destroying huge sections of rock work, i don't think dialogue is going to go too far. i shit you not, a 10ft section of beautiful roman road is now a big muddy hole in the ground. these people know they are destryoing the work of others and simply do not care.

send your polite emails to [email protected] . the trail in questions is the southernmost camp brick singletrack.

June 9, 2005, 3:22 p.m.