what's a good wax for coastal mountains and whistler

Nov. 15, 2007, 5:35 p.m.

no backcountry just the standard all mtn. maybe some pow at whistler every once in a while and just normal all mtn skis too. i dont think the skis came waxed so it needs a good waxing

ps where do i buy it as well

Nov. 15, 2007, 6:30 p.m.

I have been a tech rep for Toko for many years in the Cross Country area. Toko Yellow is the perfect wax for our coastal conditions in XC or downhill/snowboard. As it gets colder or dryer mix in some Toko red. If you want fast boards spend the extra and use a floro carbon. Not dangerous unless it is burned which is a no no anyway.

Basically your not skiing on snow but rather a thin layer of water at all times. The more hymidity (coastal) the more you need a wax with flouro to repell the water and break up molecules and you will slide faster. The colder snow has less water so you need a hard wax which causes friction which creates heat which makes water for you to slide better. Toko yellow is the ideal and more flouro the better but more expence. Any good ski shop will carry good wax.
Just my 2 cents.

:woot:

@davenorona

@Dave Norona

Nov. 15, 2007, 7:13 p.m.

Norona, whats dangerous about flourocarbon wax, fumes when its burnt ? Your a rep, what would a bar of yellow go for ?

Nov. 15, 2007, 7:25 p.m.

I would just get one of those 3 temp wax packs to start that go from around zero to colder ,that should cover whatever temps you encounter ,you will see what you use the most of and buy that next time

the other end of the spectrum is a waxing clinic at sovergiegn lakes ,a base structuring kits,drill driven brushes,expensive waxes ,BIG tool boxes covered in xc racing stickers blah blah blah .

Nov. 16, 2007, 7:17 a.m.

I just got a new pair of skis. Should I go over them with wax before first use?

Nov. 16, 2007, 7:28 a.m.

yes, it sure wouldn't hurt. Plus the factory machine waxes are more of a storage waxing.

Nov. 16, 2007, 8:10 a.m.