How to get faster

July 19, 2013, 11:40 a.m.

As the Toonies have wrapped up, I now have a good idea of where I stand. I've been doing mid to upper-mid pack and would like to take it to the next level. I'm hoping to do some more racing.

How can I get faster?

Some ideas:

- Mileage (I only started riding again in June 2012 after a 9 year hiatus)
- Physical conditioning
- Targeted training
- Instruction
- Riding with faster people
- Bigger balls

I'm interested to hear from those who have put work into increasing performance and hearing about your experience. Some tongue and cheek replies are always good too.

July 19, 2013, 11:47 a.m.

Some advice, for what it's worth

- Mileage (I only started riding again in June 2012 after a 9 year hiatus): if MTB isn't meeting you targets, get a road bike and just go.
- Physical conditioning: Check out somebody like Marx Conditioning
- Targeted training: make a plan of what you want and consult the internet forums, the trainer at your physical conditioning place can often recommend/suggest a plan.
- Instruction: Check out Endless Biking, if you're too advanced for their courses, I believe that Darren can work a plan out with you. Alternatively, you could get private training with Wade through shore play.
- Riding with faster people: go for group rides with Morgan, he did come in 5th yesterday after all
- Bigger balls: can't help you here. surgery maybe :dizzy:

"I know that heroes ride bicycles" - Joe Biden

July 19, 2013, 12:16 p.m.

-Learn to find faster lines
-Learn to corner
-Race more, experience is good
-Ride with faster people
-Mileage

July 19, 2013, 12:41 p.m.

- Mileage - long slow ride keeping the heart rate low
- Physical conditioning - focus on the core
- Intervals - tempo work and learning what each HR zone feels like
- The next three items all fit together, lesson + practice = balls
- If time is short don't crosstrain - focus on riding your mountain bike, not road cycling or running etc etc.