Florida Man

Feb. 14, 2018, 7:53 p.m.

Anyone up for a guns chat again?

The US is already up to 25 school shootings for the year (from 18 the previous year).

I honestly can't think of a way to push that number higher other than arming teachers, but I admit this isn't something I'm an expert in.

Feb. 14, 2018, 8:04 p.m.

America; just a rich bitch on the slide. Gotta' get used to it, man.

“Mass shootings have become routine in the United States and speak to a society that relies on violence to feed the coffers of the merchants of death. Given the profits made by arms manufacturers, the defense industry, gun dealers and the lobbyists who represent them in Congress, it comes as no surprise that the culture of violence cannot be abstracted from either the culture of business or the corruption of politics. Violence runs through US society like an electric current offering instant pleasure from all cultural sources, whether it be the nightly news or a television series that glorifies serial killers.”

—Professor Henry A. Giroux

http://billmoyers.com/story/gun-culture-and-the-american-nightmare-of-violence/

Last edited by: tungsten on Feb. 14, 2018, 8:25 p.m., edited 2 times in total.
Feb. 14, 2018, 10:49 p.m.

It's a ridiculously complex problem with no simple solution. No limits to campaign contributions buys politicians. The "rugged individualist" ethos ingrained into every american from birth. Low levels of education. Poor health care and almost no mental health care. Poverty and no means to lift oneself out of it. Gun fetishism and the second amendment as a tool to perpetuate same. People voting for politicians that act against their best interests, because god. Worship of the military and the almighty dollar.

It's like alcoholism. They won't truly find a way to rise above all this until they find rock bottom. They're fucked.

Meanwhile, just send thoughts and prayers. It's the most effective thing anyone outside of that abyss can do.