What bike will make me faster/bolder?

Nov. 19, 2015, 2:40 p.m.

Hi folks,

I'd appreciate your thoughts on the following matter:

I've been riding mountain bikes for the last 15 years and am now approaching my 32th birthday. I've had a great season on the bike this year (big BC trip etc.), but while I still feel that my riding skills are progressing and I am fitter than ever, I think that I don't really descend and jump as good and fast as I "should". I enjoy riding tremendously though. I know it is 90% rider and less than 10% bike, I got smoked by crazy kids on various contraptions over the years. But it's not that simple, I promise!

I very, very rarely crash and that's probably part of my problem, I tend to ride too safe and shy.
If I am not absolutely sure about a move/stunt, I won't try it. When I do, I feel exceptionally great. Often I lack the courage. I've spent most of my riding life on ENDURO style bikes, I like descending, but also like pedaling. I am not a bad rider, I can ride trails like Microclimate or steep techy trails in the Alps and really enjoy them, but big doubles and longer jumps which require a lot of speed (more than 8-10 meters from lip to landing) often let me shy away. And I often feel kind of slowish when descending, compared to other "experienced" riders.

For 2016 I want to become faster and do bigger and longer jumps. I'll visit several skill clinics and am planning a lot of riding holidays all over Europe, that includes bikepark riding and built trails riding - with a slight bias on pedaling then descending as gnarly as possible. It's mainly a fear/mind game probably, so riding lots and with skilled riders should help.

But now I am in kind of a dilemma in regard for proper gear.