upgrading the DH bike

July 8, 2019, 12:31 p.m.

I've been riding my 2011 Knolly Podium pretty much since it was new. I have treated the bike well, and to this day it still looks and rides like it did back in the day. I cracked the rear link last year, and after replacing that I took the opportunity to upgrade everything on the bike including the fork, brakes, and full driveline. It's been good to me, and I love how the bike rides. That said, it is getting up there in age and I put a ton of WBP miles on it as it's my strict park bike. Knowing the history of the Podium, I know that the gen2 model is supposed to be better than the gen1 in every way. So I've been eyeing up the PB buy&sell for 2013+ Podiums. 

Problem # 1, people just don't take care of their stuff. The sheer number of ratched and beat up bikes for sale blows me away. Sure, the last Podiums are coming up 4 years old now, but I'm surprised as to how few take care of a bike that costs a few thousand dollars. 

Problem #2, Is it worth upgrading the Podium? My bike still has a few seasons left in it, and while I love the Knolly and DH, I'm now entering my mid 40's. While I still ride a lot of miles, I tend to enjoy the Enduro world (and my Transition Patrol) a lot more than I used to. The park is great, and I plan on hitting 30 days this season (halfway there!), but I'm finding that after a couple of hours in the park, my body is feeling it. I enjoy riding the Patrol in the park, but it's not a DH rig. Nothing stops me on my Podium... Except the Professor..... that is a scary rock.

What do you think, NSMB?

July 8, 2019, 1:25 p.m.

Do some training that allows your body to handle more DH?

Last edited by: syncro on July 8, 2019, 1:26 p.m., edited 1 time in total.
July 8, 2019, 1:36 p.m.

Re the bike, if your component spec is solid just go with a new frame and consider looking beyond the Knolly

July 9, 2019, 12:21 p.m.

That's always an option. The parts are the tops and the bike still rides well.