Advice: Enduro vs all-mountain bike for the shore

Dec. 27, 2017, 9:15 p.m.

Alright, so it's time for a new bike.

After about as much online research as I can handle, I've ended up with a spreadsheet of bikes in my price range (<$5000 all in) and I thought that some people here might be able to give me some advice on narrowing it down a little more.

My major issue right now is that I can't decide whether I want to go with an enduro bike like a Norco Range or Giant Reign, or an all mountain bike like the Rocky Mountain Altitude (love the look and parts on the 2018 altitude alloy 50!).

I ride the shore almost exclusively, and it's extremely rare that I ride park. Mostly, I ride Fromme, Seymour, and West Cypress (mostly Upper Tall Cans, Wutang, Antagonizer, etc, nothing too crazy), and some other loam trails. I've always been a fan of steep, technical trails rather than fast flowy trails, pushing me towards smaller, more nimble bikes (hence my attraction to the altitude). But will an Altitude be able to handle steep trails with lots of features? I realize that it would probably be better for things like ladder-bridges, but can it handle the kind of features you find on Cypress and the harder trails on Seymour and Fromme? Would it be worth getting an ex-demo or one-season-old enduro bike over a 2018 Altitude?

I'm not really in any rush to upgrade, other than the shops selling out of heavily discounted 2017 models, but if I end up going for a 2018 model, or decide to stick to the used market, then time isn't really a factor, except that I need a bike by the time the season comes. Which unfortunately means I'm not going to get the chance to demo any bikes on the trails.